sholio: Text: "Age shall not weary her, nor custom stale her infinite squee" (Infinite Squee)
Sholio ([personal profile] sholio) wrote2020-02-08 06:01 pm

The Magician's Land (done!)

Aaaaahhhhhh I think the last book in the series might be one of my favorite fantasy books ever. It's so good. I'll have to see how it holds up to rereads, but AAAHHHH SO GOOD. I had various things I didn't like about each of the previous books, even though I loved them anyway, but there was NOTHING I didn't like about this book, nothing at all.

I SOBBED at the end. I don't even know WHY! I started leaking at the little plant representing Quentin's childhood optimism, and then it got worse when Quentin decided that he'd outgrown Fillory - he's just so quiet and calm and mature now, it's amazing - and then by the time it turned out that he CAN make his own world now and it's actually a bridge back to Fillory, I just BAWLED. Up to that point I was trying to convince myself they'd all stay in touch now even if it's never spelled out (I mean, Eliot could send messages back to Janet, surely Quentin could find a way too), but now he can come and go whenever he wants, and he and Alice are going to make sure that Earth kids can get in if they need Fillory and Fillory needs them - it's so good. I don't know if this was intentional, because I also love that Fillory never was what I expected at the beginning (a twisted and evil version of a children's-novel dreamworld; it was just a much more complex place than the kids who'd grown up on Fillory expected) but I do feel that the Quentin-ized, reconstructed Fillory is perhaps a little less ... broken, less toxic, or something, than the Fillory that destroyed the Chatwin kids. It's no longer a realm of capricious ram gods, a place that eats children and steals their innocence, but it's still a place of meaning and quests and destiny, wonderful and magical and wild.

I remember [personal profile] kore (I think) in an earlier comment said that magic ends up being a metaphor for creativity in these books, and I LOVED how that was done - how Quentin's first attempt to create his own land resulted in a sterile, nightmarish reflection of the real world, and then at the end the land he makes is beautiful and wild and full of things he didn't even put there, and so much bigger than he ever dreamed, and also (metaphorically speaking) a bridge back to his own childhood. That's so good.

I see that I was wrong and Quentin does essentially become the Chosen One at the end, okay, I get it, but I feel like by this point he's actually earned it; he's not that because there is something uniquely special about him (other than the tenacious ability to keep believing in things, even when the world and his own depressive tendencies tries to pound it out of him) but because he earned it, and at the end he embraces that it's not about being a capital-H Hero but about trying to save the world even if it kills him and he has to give up everything. He is a hero because he throws himself into a boiling fountain to restore a dying world and then has all of godhood at his fingertips and gives it up because he knows it's not his to keep. He stops thinking about what he deserves and starts thinking about what he can do for others, and that's what makes him a hero in the end.

PLUM! She's wonderful! I love her, and I also love resurrected!Alice and her rage and emptiness and slow rebuilding, and I love that Janet got some POV sections and got to be the one to bear witness to Fillory's fall, and that Julia is a beautiful, powerful demigoddess at the end of it all. It is true that the female characters don't often have the spotlight, but it's also Quentin's story and he is the protagonist, so, fair. I felt like they did have their own independent existence apart from him, including the ability to be broken and angry and terrible and spectacular in their own various ways.

I was fully prepared for the separate sets of characters to never actually interact again, or at the very least for a permanent separation at the end (or for Quentin and Alice to never actually know if the Fillory bunch survived or not), so having the last section of the book all teamy with everyone (mostly) in one place was great. Also, that bit where Penny is going to mess with Quentin's brain and everyone goes from being a slightly conflicted group of people with their own issues to a united wall of OH FUCK NO is so so good. And I love that he's turned into a person you can totally see why they'd do that for. (Plum and Quentin were especially delightful - it's so weird to see him through Plum's eyes, when we've been following him since he was a weird, angry, selfish kid, and now Plum looks up to him as a mysterious and enigmatic, powerful magician; it's such a perspective shift.)

But yeah, so I did kind of know that the book ends with Alice and Quentin on Earth (I had osmosed this from TV show reactions; it was the main thing I could remember) but I didn't know if that meant they were cut off forever, or never went back, or never even knew if the others survived, etc. And the ending is the perfect, perfect compromise between "growing up means leaving fairyland" and still having magic in your life as an adult. Quentin and Alice can seek out their own future in our world, and yet go back whenever they want and explore Fillory some more and see their friends, who can also come back whenever they want. I never dared dream the characters would get such a lovely happy-ever-after ending, and one that doesn't feel contrived or saccharine, but well earned. It's perfect.
ceitie: (Default)

[personal profile] ceitie 2020-02-09 03:53 am (UTC)(link)
The Magician's Land is definitely my favourite of all the books - the characters have grown and changed so much, and the ending is lovely and so much more hopeful then it might have been.

I'm glad you enjoyed the books! I read the first one when it first came out and was turned off by the cynicism and so didn't read the rest for a long time, and I had some problems with the second book, but I'm glad I finished the series for the third book alone, it's beautiful.
ceitie: (Default)

[personal profile] ceitie 2020-02-09 04:38 am (UTC)(link)
Yeah, I was close to Quentin's age in the third book when I read it, and I think I liked it because not only he as a character is more mature, but the writing and the story as a whole is more mature as well? You're right, you can definitely feel how the author changed over the course of the series, which is neat to see.

Yes, exactly! Like, there were many reasons not to like That Thing, but one of the reasons I love the show is that it's much more team-y than the books, especially once you hit the third season - the characters do a lot of assholish things to each other in season 1 and 2, but they grow and change and forgive each other, and it very much has similar themes to the books about figuring out how to embrace life even when it's terrible and disappointing and random, so trying to sell 'actually everything's okay once you're dead, even though you died young and violently' as a good ending is - tough. (This is actually a line an Underworld character says - like, Q asks, "are my friends going to be okay?" and he answers cheerfully, "sure, once they're down here." Like on one hand, dark comedy, on the other, what the fuck?)

It does sound like season 5 is trying to deal with all of that? But I haven't watched it yet, so - *shrugs*
ceitie: (Default)

[personal profile] ceitie 2020-02-09 05:14 am (UTC)(link)
One point in the show's favour - death is much less of a grim fate than it's described in the books, in that the Underworld is still kind of bland and shitty, but it's also described as being just a way-station before the dead move on to their final destination. So you're not stuck there forever, and so maybe get to have a good after-life? The show-writers honestly might have meant that line to be comforting? But it gave me the shivers.

I still love the show, and will probably re-watch it soon. It's got plenty of issues, but also a lot to enjoy. I'll probably wait and get spoiled for season 5, and then I can relax and watch it.
kore: (Default)

[personal profile] kore 2020-02-09 06:22 am (UTC)(link)
I am right there with you on the "wait and see how it all turns out, then maybe selectively watch it." Which makes me sad, because altho the show has always been WILDLY uneven, it was so engaging when it was really on.
ceitie: (Default)

[personal profile] ceitie 2020-02-10 04:22 am (UTC)(link)
I know, it's too bad - I got too invested last season, and now I want to know ahead of time if they're going to do something heart-breaking again so I can like, harden myself and just enjoy the jokes and the musical bits.
kore: (Default)

[personal profile] kore 2020-02-09 07:37 am (UTC)(link)
(Also, can we just take a moment to share condolences on the TRAGEDY of the beautiful Arjun Gupta no longer being half-shirted in nearly every episode??)
nyctanthes: (Default)

[personal profile] nyctanthes 2020-02-09 04:51 pm (UTC)(link)
Cries....
ceitie: (Default)

[personal profile] ceitie 2020-02-10 04:23 am (UTC)(link)
HA, yes, he's lovely, isn't he?
kore: (Default)

[personal profile] kore 2020-02-09 06:20 am (UTC)(link)
Yeah, I LOVED the teaming up aspect in the show, and how the female characters get way more time and are more well-rounded -- it's an ensemble, not just Quentin's story. And then it was like in the fourth season they spent time literally ripping the connections apart, PLUS what happened with Q and Eliot, and then the finale was a disaster. I might watch S5 after it's all done and the spoilers are all out. But right now even the little I'm hearing of it is the opposite of intriguing.

They do kind of have a built-in problem with the third book -- if they follow Grossman in doing his version of The Last Battle, even though Fillory is rebuilt and goes on a bit differently, that's kind of the end of the story. But then they also burned through a lot of the book plots in record time, and when the showrunners kind of went beyond that, well, we got season four in its crappiness. It was like the Avengers in the MCU -- I know some people really get off on the "these people are friends and then they're TORN APART" dynamic, but I don't enjoy it at all.
kore: (Default)

[personal profile] kore 2020-02-09 07:19 am (UTC)(link)
The Monster plot doesn't technically work after the end of Fillory, though, because godhood is literally gone. I did think he was really setting up a possible sequel with Plum and Jane, or Plum's further adventures; or whatever Alice and Q might discover on their journey. But Fillory is a radically changed environment after what Quentin does -- there are new stories, but the way the TV series is set up, there's a very small (compared to the books) ensemble of actors with long-term contracts, and it's very difficult to tell new stories with that setup. Altho Peak TV is experimental enough that it could possibly happen.
kore: (Default)

[personal profile] kore 2020-02-09 07:54 am (UTC)(link)
There's nothing pivotal to the resolution that requires gods to be completely gone at the end - in book terms it works great and gives it a nice punch of "Fillory is very different now", but the TV version could just be something as simple as "yay we stopped the apocalypse" with things being pretty similar after. Or maybe they just THOUGHT they stopped the apocalypse and then the other shoe drops and things are EVEN WORSE the next season, or they reboot the timeline to an earlier point and then have to deal with it all over again. (I mean, how many cycles of near-apocalypse did Supernatural go through, anyway?)

Yeah, those would all be fun! Altho I don't know if you want any spoilers for the show or not. But they went a COMPLETELY different direction with what it means to kill gods, and the source of magic, and they did a "Fillory in danger" plotline without the Last Battle aspect at all. There are a couple of episodes with really interesting different timelines, but we don't see much of them, and they've been used more for Replacement Goldfish type stuff. Like SPN, a lot of the characterization is really good, but the plotting is for shit and the themes are pretty confused (especially when it comes to divinity) and then the shitty plotting starts to affect the characterization....which at this point is also in a weird place because everyone's split off into het couples more or less and now there's Jealousy issues. So I was just talking as a long term viewer of the show, and what they seem likely to do with it. Like [personal profile] ceitie said, the Underworld is pretty different, and it's also associated with the Library and other ongoing weird plots.

I mean, I think your ideas are really interesting! I just don't see how they could be integrated into the show now at all.
kore: (Default)

[personal profile] kore 2020-02-09 08:09 am (UTC)(link)
I think I was just impressed in the book with how final the apocalypse actually isn't - it ends in a place that makes you feel as if everyone is poised on the edge of new adventures, all of which would be lovely to read about, or see.

Yes, definitely! And Grossman has been.....writing some giant Arthuriana type historical fiction novel for the last six years, or something. //eyeroll (Well, to be fair, and working on the show, and the Alice-centric graphic novel, which was beautiful.) PLUM is such a great character, and so different from the people who had no connection to Fillory other than reading about it, her further adventures would be amazing.

And it's a shame that the show isn't similarly opened-ended, or couldn't manage to be.

The plotting is....weird. They did use a lot of plot from the books, but also changed a lot, and burned through them at a rapid clip (each season is only 13 episodes long, or about half a typical TV show) and then there's original (bad) stuff to the show like a werewolf curse and the fairy realm and so on. Like, in the show, Quentin's father does die and he travels back to his childhood home and there's some stuff about mourning, but it's in a completely different context with some terrible Original Plot thrown in. (Remember how hot SPN was on the possession storyline? Gamble and McNamara went for that in S4 in a MAJOR, terrible way.)
kore: (Default)

[personal profile] kore 2020-02-09 08:58 am (UTC)(link)
Which is especially impressive since she's a type of character who very often doesn't work: a late-in-series character who is important, powerful, a major narrator, and a long-lost relative of someone else, who becomes part of the main group. Most of the other examples of that I can think of, I had a massive knee-jerk reaction to this INTERLOPER

LOLyes, it's the famed Cousin Oliver thing. (Boy am I old.) But Grossman draws her so well -- I love how sharp and cynical she is, and how vulnerable and scared of her heritage she really is underneath. And he does a really good job writing women who are good at what they do -- Julia and Alice and Plum are all really talented, and very hard workers.

I would 1000% read a whole book about Plum and Fillory.

I was SO HOPING he would do that. But that's what fanfic is for! lol.

... which I guess, come to think of it, is one thing the books get away with that an ensemble show never could: the way characters rotate in and out all the time. You could easily have another book about Plum, or a book about the hedge witch network, or a book exploring the Neitherlands or another world through the fountains. But you couldn't do that in a TV series because you need all the characters to be in most of the episodes ... unless you were doing something incredibly experimental and risky. The books' narrative style really doesn't work in a TV format, though.

Yeah, I think I've seen that in some European shows? I'm thinking of ensemble shows like I think Skins, or MI5, or Silent Witness, which have gone on for a while and had very different casts. Whereas in the US the emphasis for so long was on getting shows up to the magic number of 100 episodes for syndication, and actors getting long term contracts so they could eat. But with Peak TV/"prestige TV" now bringing the European model of much shorter and even anthology series to TV (Horror Story, American Crime, some other ones) there might be a possibility for shows to be less tied down to one setting or one primary cast. But that's just not how Magicians got set up -- it's in the traditional format, even if it's only 13 episodes.
kore: (Default)

[personal profile] kore 2020-02-09 08:19 am (UTC)(link)
tl;dr If you remember a lot of the terrible plot decisions that happened in late SPN, it's obvious the same showrunner is in charge of these terrible plot decisions. Not that they're the same terrible plots (altho sometimes they are!) and it's not even that they're inconsistent, but it's so clearly "this is COOL, let's do it!" without any internal structure at all.
cgbookcat1: (giraffe)

[personal profile] cgbookcat1 2020-02-09 05:43 pm (UTC)(link)
I hated the first book and its characters so much, to the point I was sad I had spent time in the world. The cynicism was part of it. So it's really interesting to see the perspective of people who love this series!
ceitie: (Default)

[personal profile] ceitie 2020-02-10 04:34 am (UTC)(link)
I had the weird experience of reading the first book, not liking it, not watching the show for a long time because I hadn't liked the book - and then watching parts of the show and REALLY REALLY liking it, and so then reading the rest of the books and actually enjoying them.

I feel like the show has a lot more heart than the books, but I also think the second and third books have a lot more - hmm, honesty and love than the first book? Like, it's there in the first book I think, but maybe in a way that that the author is kind of embarrassed by and so very deeply buried. But it shines out more in the next two books. I get why they're not everyone's cup of tea (I actually really don't like Julia's storyline in the books), but there are also parts I very much loved, especially in the third book.
kore: (Default)

[personal profile] kore 2020-02-10 05:50 pm (UTC)(link)
Yeah that first book is a BIG speedbump, but then a lot of the second and most of the third are so good. (I really loved Julia's POV in the second book, but didn't much like where she wound up at the end. It feels to me like all the women got treated much better in the series, bar last season, except maybe for Poppy.)
ceitie: (Default)

[personal profile] ceitie 2020-02-13 03:32 am (UTC)(link)
Yeah, I liked the sections of Julia's POV, but there were multiple reasons I didn't like the story, some of it being just my own personal dislike of the tropes involved - (I almost always hate 'trauma victim can only be healed by leaving humanity behind all together' narratives - which doesn't mean they're bad, or badly done, just I am deeply 'do not want' about them) - I had some of the same problems with her storyline on the show, but it was executed differently enough that it didn't bother me as much.

Yeah, I think the show treats the women characters much better, generally - even little things like taking away Margo / Janet's spitefulness towards Alice makes a big difference.
kore: (Default)

[personal profile] kore 2020-02-13 04:23 am (UTC)(link)
OMFG, Margo was like a 100% upgrade from Janet. Summer Bishil is amazing.
kore: (Default)

[personal profile] kore 2020-02-09 06:15 am (UTC)(link)
Yes! I think the third book really is the best in the series, although I do love Julia's chapters in the second one. I've reread the third book most, I think. PLUM is just so wonderful, and I really do love her perspective on Quentin (at one point she thinks he's like a young Merlin, yowza). And Janet's final witnessing for Fillory is so well done, and Julia's showing Quentin the flower of discovering Fillory that's always blooming -- it's just so great. And Grossman explicitly comes out and connects magic with creativity, and creating art, so it's like he's meta-commenting on his own experience writing the books, and what writing and reading can mean, as well. It's amazing how far the last book travels from the beginning of the first one.
naye: a photo of old books (books)

[personal profile] naye 2020-02-09 09:41 pm (UTC)(link)
You are making me kind of keen to read these...!
kore: (Default)

[personal profile] kore 2020-02-10 05:46 pm (UTC)(link)
I read the series one after the other long after they had come out, and with some content warnings in mind, so I was able to get through the first book okay, but oh man if I had just read it cold....It really is like both Grossman and Quentin come to a much deeper understanding of what magic/creativity is.