Entry tags:
Absolutely random B5 5x09 question
In the bedroom scene on Centauri Prime at the end of "In the Kingdom of the Blind", any ideas/thoughts/speculation on what G'Kar is sleeping on? Is he just on the floor, or is there some actual piece of furniture there?
Yes, it's for fanfic purposes.
(The way the scene pans up to Londo's bed, I do think he's on the floor. I could absolutely believe that the Centauri expect bodyguards/servants to sleep on the floor to be on call at all times, except for the fact that they don't actually seem to have bodyguards the way Londo does. Which suggests that this is something G'Kar decided to do spontaneously, probably over Londo's objections, and probably with a mix of wanting to stay close since they now know for sure that factions in the palace are after him + simply wanting to annoy him. "But how can I protect you if I am in the other room," etc.)
Yes, it's for fanfic purposes.
(The way the scene pans up to Londo's bed, I do think he's on the floor. I could absolutely believe that the Centauri expect bodyguards/servants to sleep on the floor to be on call at all times, except for the fact that they don't actually seem to have bodyguards the way Londo does. Which suggests that this is something G'Kar decided to do spontaneously, probably over Londo's objections, and probably with a mix of wanting to stay close since they now know for sure that factions in the palace are after him + simply wanting to annoy him. "But how can I protect you if I am in the other room," etc.)

no subject
I also believe he's on the floor; the carpet pattern seems visible underneath whatever he's using for a pillow. (Now that I've called it up, excuse me while I rewatch all the Centauri Prime scenes in this episode.)
Which suggests that this is something G'Kar decided to do spontaneously, probably over Londo's objections, and probably with a mix of wanting to stay close since they now know for sure that factions in the palace are after him + simply wanting to annoy him. "But how can I protect you if I am in the other room," etc.
Sounds about right to me.
no subject
I also thought that looked like a carpet pattern under him, so I'm going with that. Thank you!
It has occurred to me that the fic snippet I sent you, which was based on a clip or two that I had seen from this episode and one other (some time ago, I don't remember much of it now, but I did osmose the one-bedroom situation) would work perfectly well in the 5x09-5x10 time frame, which means I can see if it's possible to edit it into a canon-compatible shape.
(Now that I've called it up, excuse me while I rewatch all the Centauri Prime scenes in this episode.)
I support these life choices.
Sounds about right to me.
I find it completely charming that he is 100% dedicated to going as far as necessary to ensure Londo's safety on Centauri Prime, and also absolutely dedicated to annoying him as much as possible in the process.
no subject
Welcome! It was not entirely disinterested research!
It has occurred to me that the fic snippet I sent you, which was based on a clip or two that I had seen from this episode and one other (some time ago, I don't remember much of it now, but I did osmose the one-bedroom situation) would work perfectly well in the 5x09-5x10 time frame, which means I can see if it's possible to edit it into a canon-compatible shape.
It looked quite canon-compatible to me at the time when I first read it, so please, please do. It contains one of my favorite lines you have written for Londo.
I support these life choices.
How did I live without regular infusions of these idiots into my life?
I find it completely charming that he is 100% dedicated to going as far as necessary to ensure Londo's safety on Centauri Prime, and also absolutely dedicated to annoying him as much as possible in the process.
Their vibe!
no subject
It looked quite canon-compatible to me at the time when I first read it, so please, please do. It contains one of my favorite lines you have written for Londo.
Oh, that is delightfully encouraging to hear, thank you so much! I am editing it right now. (Which line, if I might ask?)
How did I live without regular infusions of these idiots into my life?
I am wondering the same thing myself. I can also see why seeing the part of the show I saw 30 years ago left me with a desire to know the rest of these characters' stories that has persisted all this time; I could tell something about it was going to hook into my heart, and it has. (Also the fact that I knew just from the couple episodes I saw of the Cartagia arc and the season three flash-forward that I was going to be completely gone for Londo and G'Kar whenever I saw the whole show was very prescient of 19-year-old me.)
And once again, I am having a delightful time discussing it!
no subject
Most excellent. I especially like the moment you chose.
Oh, that is delightfully encouraging to hear, thank you so much! I am editing it right now. (Which line, if I might ask?)
"Please shut up and stop ruining my afterglow."
(Also the fact that I knew just from the couple episodes I saw of the Cartagia arc and the season three flash-forward that I was going to be completely gone for Londo and G'Kar whenever I saw the whole show was very prescient of 19-year-old me.)
I am glad both that you had such prescience and that you listened to it this year! It is making me very happy to be able to discuss this show as well.
no subject
"Please shut up and stop ruining my afterglow."
I am completely delighted to hear that. <3
no subject
It's such a Londo line, I can even tell where Peter Jurasik would have done one of those off-kilter slight pauses for emphasis.
no subject
no subject
(Not to say they couldn't have eventually found something for him to sleep on during the *month* they're on Centauri Prime ...)